The Whole Nicole

An absolute potpourri spilling out of my brain

I like a bunch of stuff. I do a bunch of things. I care about a bunch of issues. Here is where I write about it all because I can't seem to land on any one thing. The whole of me!


Museums To Visit

So, you might think I’d been to plenty of museums and there’s not a ton more to go visiting.. Ha! There’s a ton I’d love to see, not just in North America. So here we go, a nice wish list for me to refer to. If you have suggestions, let me know!

CANADA

Canadian Museum for Human Rights – Winnipeg, MB
National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, ON
H.R. MacMillan Space Centre, Vancouver, BC
Royal Tyrrell Museum, near Drumheller, AB (and Dinosaur Provincial Park while I’m in the area, why not!)
McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kleinburg, ON (yes, I cannot believe I’ve not been, given how close it is to Toronto)
The Canadian Potato Museum, O’Leary, PEI (as if I’d leave a potato museum off my list)
Canadian Canoe Museum, Peterborough, ON (I’d heard about this via research by someone at work!)
MUMAQ; Musée des métiers d’art du Québec, Montreal, QC

USA

Buffalo AKG Art Museum (formerly the Albright-Knox Art Gallery), Buffalo, NY
Corning Glass Museum, Corning, NY
National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C. (I did hit a TON of Smithsonian but not everything!)
Museum of Death, Los Angeles, CA (I’m not sure it’d be “good” as a museum? But fascinating to visit.)
Museum of Jurassic Technology, Culver City, CA
Cryptozoology Museum, Portland, MA (because why the hell not lol)
Academy Museum, Los Angeles, CA
Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit, MI (one of my bosses used to work there, and I think Detroit would be interesting to see, too)
Baltimore Museum of Art, Baltimore, MD
American Visionary Art Museum, Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Streetcar Museum and Baltimore Museum of Industry
National Museum of Wildlife Art, Jackson, WY (This sounds like exactly the sort of niche museum I need in my life)
Denver Museum of Nature and Science, Denver, CO (it’s one that I hear come up a lot in museum-y circles, it’s made me curious)
First Americans Museum, Oklahoma City, OK
Neon Museum, Las Vegas, NV (if I’m ever in the area for a reason, I’m not sure I want to go specifically for that!)
American Sign Museum, Cincinnati, OH
Very Large Array (technically a site with a visitor centre but it’s cooooool), near Albuquerque , NM

WORLDWIDE
The Vagina Museum, London, UK
Rijksmuseum, Dutch Funeral Museum, Van Gogh Museum, and allll the other ones in Amsterdam lol
The Icelandic Phallological Museum, Reykjavík, Iceland (aka the penis museum)
Mathematikum, Giessen, Germany
Ghibli Museum, Mitaka, Japan
Ramen Museum, Yokohama-City, Japan
Kusama Museum, Tokyo, Japan
Topkapı Palace, Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul archaeology museum, Istanbul, Turkey
Naples Archaeology Museum, Naples, Italy Naples archaeology
The Uffizi galleries, Florence, Italy
Museum of Contraception and Abortion, Vienna, Austria
Natural History Museum Vienna, Austria
Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria
National Crafts Museum & Hastkala Academy, Delhi, India

(Header image taken at the Burke Museum in Seattle)



Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.