I guess board games are my valentine

tl;dr: board games are great and have also connected me to amazing people that I love and I’m grateful for that!


51ogtwjrxcl-_sy355_

Last week I was listening to the “romantic” episode of Tuesday Knight Games podcast, where my pal Stephanie chatted with hosts Alan and Sean about gaming and romantics, and Valentine’s. Lots of chatting about what games are good for dates, romantic things related to games and gaming and the like. I got a little wistful, because I recently split with my partner, Adam. We met when he was working at a board game cafe and I was a regular customer, and our love of games and vegan baked goods brought us together. And while I haven’t experienced any other romantic relationships originating out of board games, I have created a lot of fast friendships.

The TKG podcast crew and Stephanie chatted a bit about the social aspect of games, how it gets people together and can create or maintain social relationships. When I first got into modern board gaming, it was because I’d joined a tabletop gaming social group at my University, and it offered up some great opportunities for us to chill out and game as a break from study. D&D was my major social gaming outlet at the time, but as time progressed I became more and more about playing board games with friends. Especially after moving to Toronto, I spent a lot of time at the board game cafe here and met my then-partner, and a bevy of great folks I know to this day. Which is no small feat as someone in her 30s; it’s always been hard for me to make and keep friends and doubly so as I’ve gotten older.

On top of the local folks I’ve gotten to know over the years, there’s been a big slice of new folks come into my life via board game conventions and the board game corner of Twitter. A little like going to camp, cons are these things where you spend a few kinda intense days with folks and then become penpals (aka Facebook friends) and then catch up at next year’s con. Twitter, for me, was the big factor in me getting to know so many of the rad friends in my life right now, especially. People I talk to every day, who I rant to or celebrate with or just send GIFs back and forward to brighten each other’s day. They fill up my heart and I am so grateful to know them – because of the internet and board games! It’s almost unbelievable.

Best of all, recently I’ve been playing board games with friends at work – sometimes at a pub get together, or if we manage to have time to take a proper lunch break. We sit around and have a little fun, escape our to-do lists and relax. It’s a nice way to spend time with people I don’t see often during the day, and get to know them better.

All the connections that board games have made for me, I could never have in many years made on my own. I love board games – and not just playing them. They’ve brought me fun and friends and for that I think they deserve a nice box of chocolates and a bottle of wine. And I just wanted to tell you all how great board games have been to me ❤

 

Leave a Reply

