2016 pop culture overview

Because I don’t really want to get personal as far as a 2016 look-back, I’m going completely superficial with an entertainment/hobby year in review.

I’ve been keeping track of movies, books and board games for the last little while on various websites so I can take a look back at my pop culture consumption habits at year-end. My mind is useless, so I’d truly forget the finer details, which is why I like to record these things. The only things I haven’t really figured out how to track yet are TV (which i arguably consume more of than much of anything else except board games) and video games (those are far fewer in number than everything else so it’s a lot easier to have a think back about those experiences). Anyhow, here’s some cool stuff that I enjoyed in 2016 (even if it wasn’t from 2016)!

43 movies watched – top 5 are probably Rogue One, Hidden Figures, Spotlight, Arrival & Train to Busan. Honourable mentions to the Lobster and Don’t Breathe.

378 plays of board games (178 unique titles, plus unpublished prototypes) – Compared to my 600+ plays of last year.. oof. 2016 was a rough one, okay? My top games – Honshu, Isle of Skye, Grand Austria Hotel, Kanagawa & Roll Player.

And of notable mention for board-game related stuff, I loved writing for the Daily Worker Placement, starting up the Games on the Rocks stream with Suz, Steph & Mags, and also starting the Greatway Games podcast with Erin & Adrienne. Can’t wait to keep that up in 2017.

42 books and comics read – my faves were finishing up the Ancillary trilogy, and also reading A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet & A Closed & Common Orbit from Becky Chambers. Mmmm space. Honorable mentions to the Doomsday Book & Three Moments of an Explosion. Comics-wise, Paper Girls was definitely a fave, followed by Midas Flesh.

12-ish video games played? Of which I remember Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime, Chariot, Stardew Valley, Skyrim, Gone Home, Firewatch, Virginia, the Stanley Parable, Sorcery pts 1 & 2, The Average Everyday Adventures of Samantha Brown. And I have a Steam library full of goodies I haven’t gotten to, yet. But out of it all, I think Stardew Valley has been the one I’ve gotten the most time in on, and Gone Home & Firewatch made the most impact on me.

A bunch of television watched – among my favourites were Stranger Things, the new X-Files episodes, Black Mirror, Crazyhead, Westworld, Bojack Horseman and as always my faves Steven Universe, Adventure Time, and Brooklyn 99. ❤ Surprisingly disappointed overall with the new Gilmore Girls.

I’m going to up my reading challenge for 2017 (I smashed through my lowball 25 for 2016!) and I almost made it to 52 films watched in 2016, so I’ll try for that in 2017. Not gonna make any goals for the rest, as they just seem to happen 🙂

Anything you loved in particular from last year?

6 responses to “2016 pop culture overview”

  1. Renée says :

    My faves from your faves: Black Mirror (still making my way through it), Firewatch (played through a few days ago, want another go through), Stanley Parables (although I played that quite a while ago), Rogue One, Lobster… Spotlight was good but I didn’t like-like it because ugh. Can’t wait to see Hidden Figures! Same feeling about Gilmore Girls…

    I read a few Chuck Wendig books this year, loved all of them, especially Blackbirds (#1 in the Miriam Black series).

  2. dimsimkitty says :

    A fun way to look back on the year.
    I think I only saw one movie in the cinema, and that was Ghostbusters. I don’t tend to go to the movies a lot. Oh wait, I saw Zoolander 2… was that this year?
    TV wise… a lot. I watch so much TV, though often I rewatch shows I have seen multiple times. This year I rewatched Angel and Gilmore Girls, and of course I am currently in the middle of my yearly Buffy rewatch.

Leave a Reply

