The Digital Dozen, fresh for March!

Greetings, and welcome to your mid-week round of links and fun distractions.

Here’s a little frog riding a beetle, because what could be better? “Hey guys, look at me!”

Dogs are awesome – obviously – and this 5 minute video gives a great picture of how awesome they are with smelling. It’s amazing seeing the breakdown of biology of how smelling for dogs work. For instance, I had no idea dogs breathe in through their nostrils, but out through small slits on the sides of their nose! Whaaaa!

These frozen sand sculptures are beautiful! As someone who grew up in Australia the snow+beach thing doesn’t compute, but it makes for an incredible visual. (From here.)

This app, Pivot, looks pretty awesome. An augmented reality sort of thing, where you can be in a place and see the comparison to how it looked through historical photos. So cool! More info is on their Kickstarter.

2d84d3f5cd7d70b9512868722d152f90_original

Local Toronto artist Daniel Rotsztain is visiting every branch of the Toronto Public Library and drawing them – you can see all the sketches here! I think this is my fave so far:

While it’s a bit hyperbolic and silly and US-centric (tis a Buzzfeed production after all), it’s still interesting to see countries compared by their actual sizes and how much different they look when represented not on the Mercator map projection.

Embroidering scenes as she travels, textile artist Teresa Lim creates beautiful keepsakes. I wish I had the skills to try something like this, they’re like little fabric postcards.

I love the patterns created by this artist pouring paint! Super trippy and colourful. I’d love to have something like that hanging in my apartment.

Better Book Store Sections” has me crying with laughter. Especially “meals you intend to make but never will”. Yeah.

I said dogs are awesome up there – I have a specific love for pups, but I think all animals are amazing. Check out this tricksy praying mantis that makes itself look like an orchid! Next level shit.

I want this. I want many of them, so I can put all the things in them all over my apartment and my desk at work!

Okay, more awesome animals. Because it’s amazing how much fun these squirrels are having. I mean, really.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

