Simple Gluten Free Vegan Pancake Recipe

I’ve had weird pancake cravings lately. All of a sudden all I want is a syrupy plate of them. Adam made me some wonderful buttermilk pancakes from the Bunners cookbook on the weekend, and we put chocolate chips in them & slathered them with peanut butter! Perhaps a little too desserty for breakfast?

My recipe is one I’ve tinkered with to make vegan, and then subsequently gluten free. They’re fluffy without being ridiculously thick, and they’re really easy to amend to include spices (a dash of cinnamon, or perhaps some pumpkin spice mix?), throw in a nice half cup of blueberries, or even a little lemon juice & zest for freshness. These are great just with syrup, or as a side to a killer full breakfast of tofu scramble, home fries and tempeh bacon!

Gluten-Free & Vegan Pancakes  (makes approximately 6 pancakes 5 inches/12cm in diameter)

Ingredients:

1.5 cups gluten free all-purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1/4 tsp Xanthan gum

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1.5 cups soy or almond milk (or any dairy-free milk, really)

2 tbs vegetable or canola oil

Directions:

Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder together. Add the milk and mix well. Then add the oil and mix well until there are few lumps left.

Heat a non-stick pan on medium heat; pour batter and let it spread to desired diameter. When bubbles start to appear, flip the pancake and let it cook for another 30-60 seconds (I usually let it go 30 seconds then check it doesn’t overcook and is nicely brown).

When they’re done, flip ’em out on a plate and devour with maple syrup, or however you dig it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Simple Gluten Free Vegan Pancake Recipe”

  1. dimsimkitty says :

    Yes! I will add these to my repertoire for when I have GFs over for brunch, and to help me with using up my Bob’s Red Mill GF flour. 😀

Leave a Reply

