Digital Dozen – more midweek distractions for your tired brain

I don’t understand how it’s already Wednesday, but also, how is is only Wednesday? Hump day, you vex me. Onto the fun stuff!

First of all, I’ve been watching and rewatching and sharing this everywhere, but it needs to take first mention here. Magic dogs. I love it.

Animal problems. They’re real, and they’re adorably illustrated by Geoff Hewer-Candee over at this Tumblr.

Let’s talk about some REAL distractions, like the incredible archive of MS DOS games now available on the Internet Archive! There’s a little about the process behind it here. There are so many to play, right in your browser! Have you any idea how awesome that is? Especially for me to relive all those hours of..

Interspecies friends always make me happy. This squirrel is so persistent, and the dog is so patient! Although I imagine it’s nice to have someone combing around in your fur 🙂 There’s a load more videos here!

Speaking of interspecies interactions.. this kitten’s reactions are pretty priceless. GIF included for good laughs. Oh, the look of terror!

Who knew bananas could be a medium for art? Their very browning nature must make this tough..

If I still played D&D, I’d be on these dice like.. a flash! *zing* The only thing that would be better is if they made a *womp-womp* noise on a critical fail.

It’s amazing what folks can do with digital media nowadays.. these GIFs show the colouring of B&W photos so that they look like they were always meant to be that way. It’s incredible!

This dude climbed the ice next to Niagara Falls. It’s terrifying, when you think about it, and especially when you see the scale of it:

I love the style of these pieces – ‘Super Families‘ – there’s something really sweet about the way they are framed. And it’s safe to say I definitely want this one, because have you met me?

I’m usually not too taken with landscapes unless they really stand out to me – and these did. Look how dreamy they are. Finland! Gosh.

While we’re on dreamy, and somewhat humbling (or should that be Hubbling?) in sense of scale. Check out this amazing image of the ‘Pillars of Creation’ taken by the Hubble Space Telescope. It’s hard to believe something that incredible exists, but look at it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Digital Dozen – more midweek distractions for your tired brain”

  1. maleafycent (@veganza) says :

    *drowns in MS-DOS games* I keel you! Keep your filthy time-gobbling links to yourself! (not really) I AM NEVER GOING TO LEAVE THAT SITE.

Leave a Reply

