Green Smoothie Challenge – Complete!

I finished the 30 day green smoothie challenge! Pic of a green smoothie and text.

So, it’s February now (!), which means I’m on the other side of the Simple Green Smoothies 30 day challenge. Out of the 30 days, I think there were maybe only 3 days that I missed because of failing to remember/have the energy to get it done, or slacking on the shopping list, and days where I repeated recipes also due to slacking on the shopping list.

I am excited to keep up with pretty regular green smoothies, though. It’s nice to know that I can chuck a cup or two of greens in there and not even taste it if there’s a good balance in the other ingredients. It was great to have recipes that made enough for two people also, which meant Adam took part with me.

Not all of the smoothies were hits, but that’s just a matter of taste. If you are interested, here’s the top 5 smoothies from the month that I will definitely make again! (All these recipes posted publicly with the Instagram pics.) Note: all of these make enough for two smoothies! Halve if you want one, or just save the other in a sealed jar/container in the fridge for a day or two.

Gorilla Punch!
2 cups kale, fresh 2 cups almond milk, unsweetened 2 bananas 1 apple 2 tablespoons cacao 2 tablespoons almond butter Blend greens and liquids first, then add remaining ingredients. And use one frozen fruit to make your smoothie creamy and cold.

Banana C Monster!
2 cups spinach, fresh 1 cup orange juice, freshly squeezed 1 cup water 2 bananas 1 orange 1 cup strawberries

Chunky Monkey!
2 cups spinach, fresh 2 cups almond milk, unsweetened 2 bananas 1 pear 2 tablespoons almond butter 2 tablespoons cacao

Citris Crush!
2 cups spinach, fresh 1 cup orange juice 1 cup water 1 cup pineapple 1 banana 1 cup grapes

Shauna’s Sangria!
2 cups spinach, fresh 1 cup orange juice, freshly squeezed 1 cup water 1/2 cup grapes 1 apple 1 pear 1 cup strawberries

 

I would recommend this challenge to anyone, if you’re willing to try new things and keep up with the shopping list. (It definitely helped me get some variety of fruit into my diet!) And if you don’t want to commit to the challenge, the Simple Green Smoothies site & their Instagram account are excellent sources of recipes if you want to try one-offs. (Beginner’s Luck is a delicious starting point!)

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Green Smoothie Challenge – Complete!”

  1. Renée Sance (@veganza) says :

    I live off kale smoothies, mainly in blueberry or carob/cacao concoctions. If I don’t get my morning greens, I feel off-colour… Pretty sure it’s not entirely psychological! I should probably mix it up a bit more often. Thanks for the recipes/linkage!

  2. Abby says :

    Thank you for the recommendations! I made Gorilla Punch this morning and loved it.

Leave a Reply

