One weekend closer to the end of 2013, one cookie exchange closer to a sugar coma.

The days are peeling away, and the new year is looming! I had a pretty nice weekend with snow and baking and Jake snuggling, except for the  not seeing Adam much part. His schedule is a bit muddled for the holiday season which means while I have Sat/Sun weekends, he has something like Wed & Fri weekends. On the plus side, having crimble days off together will be super nice, so we can make a gingerbread house from the kit I got at Tori’s Bakeshop (and I’m looking forward to another fantastic ‘orphans’ holiday gathering on the 25th for feasting and friend hangouts).

The baking was in order to rock it at a vegan and gluten-free cookie exchange on Sunday! Which actually turned into more broadly a treat exchange, which was way better! Variety is the spice of life. I busted out an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie that was a staff favourite when I baked at a certain cafe – I knew it’d be a solid choice, plus I had everything I needed on hand at home.

My little packages of cookies to hand out.

My little packages of cookies to hand out.

Everyone went above and beyond making delicious treats, there was a bounty of treats for each of us to take home, and then also snack on while we sat around and chatted (and gazed adoringly at our host Lisa’s cat Charlie). I brought along some So Nice nog for everyone to wash down their cookies with too (although it was kinda weird having it without the Kraken..). Here’s some pictures of the incredible range of stuff made – chocolate macaroons, cranberry shortbreads drizzled with chocolate, 2 kinds of chocolate bark, ‘Betterfinger’ crunchy peanut squares, ginger snaps, peanut butter cookies, Lisa’s failed hermit cookie batter which ended up being tiny amazing richly flavoured pancakes (which I would want to eat for brunch all season long!!). Plus our magnificent friend Angela brought sushi to combat sugar overload.

Ginger cookies, hermit pancakes, peanut butter cookies, my oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, delicious sushi & a sneak peak of the squares.

Ginger cookies, hermit pancakes, peanut butter cookies, my oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, delicious sushi & a sneak peak of the squares.

Shortbreads, squares, chocolate bark, macaroons! And wee satsumas.

Shortbreads, squares, chocolate bark, macaroons! And wee satsumas.

This is my piled high bounty from the exchange to take home.

This is my piled high bounty from the exchange to take home.

After the ridiculous TTC effort to get to Lisa’s place, it was so nice to settle in with warmth, friends and tasty nibbles. I am so grateful to have friends who are willing to take part in fun events like this, that let us showcase our skills and tastes, and that we can all benefit from in the form of sugary treats to power us through the holidays. Best of all was the extra bonus of gluten free, which means I can share with Adam! My teeth and waistline are thankful.

Around the baking and everything else this weekend, I got to try and get Jake to go for walks in the snow. I’m sure he’s seen snow before (he lived with his foster carer in Peterborough for 2 years!) but he’s so weird about it, and flips out. Plus the cold and salt aren’t great for his wee feets. But he’s trying. So here’ s a bonus photo of the little guy after burying his face to sniff something beneath the snow.

Awww.

Awww.

 

 

 

 

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Cookies! ~ Weekend in Review | Blue-Eyed Bookworm - January 2, 2014

Leave a Reply

