Getting crunchy: a delicious vegan & GF granola recipe

When I posted my yogurt/granola snack yesterday, some folks asked me to share the recipe so here we go!

I don’t know what took me so long to make granola at home – it’s the easiest kind of baking there is! I started with the recipe from Babycakes Covers the Classics, but modify the flavours and add-ins pretty much each time. I’m still tinkering with the cooking time as well – for the temp/time combo they list, it’s too much in my oven. Everything gets too crunchy on the top, even with a lot of stirring. Next time I think I’ll try spreading out onto a couple of trays to get a more even crunch without ruining it. Below is the Babycakes basic recipe with asterisks where there are mentions/alterations in my notes after, as I don’t go off the original recipe anymore! It’s quite easy to tinker with this for different tastes and whatever you might have in your cupboard.

I also recommend pairing your granola making activities with soynog & rum.

I also recommend pairing your granola making activities with soynog & rum.

Ingredients:

4 cups gluten free oats  (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
1 tsp salt *
1 Tbsp cinnamon *
1 tsp ground ginger *
1 ½ cups unsweetened shredded coconut *
1 cup pecans (optional, or use almonds, pumpkin seeds, walnuts) *
1 cup dried berries (cranberries, blueberries, cherries, raisins)
1/3 cup melted coconut oil
1/3 cup agave nectar *

Nicole’s modifications:

I made it the first time with the coconut/pecan/cranberry combo. After that I halved the salt, subbed in pumpkin seeds instead of the coconut, and added a 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/8 tsp allspice to make a fantastic autumnal pumpkin spice granola. I’ve since run out of pecans, so have been going with the coconut/pumpkin seed/cranberry mix with a few raisins thrown in, and keeping the pumpkin spice elements. I don’t think I’ll chance that, honestly. I think I’d like to try a date and almond one next, perhaps with a vanilla tinge. Maybe some walnut/cherry/hemp seed would be great. And I bet using maple syrup on occasion instead of agave would be amazing. Infinite granolas!

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine oats, salt, cinnamon, ginger, coconut, pecans and berries and mix together. Add the coconut oil and agave nectar and toss until the oats are covered.

Pour the mixture onto the baking sheet, spread out and bake for 15 minutes. Give the mixture a stir and continue baking for 10-15 minutes more. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

Store granola in a covered container.

Pumpkin Spice!

Pumpkin Spice!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Getting crunchy: a delicious vegan & GF granola recipe”

  1. everybodylovespretty says :

    This looks delicious! I love trying new granola recipes!

Leave a Reply

