Time for another Digital Dozen

I hope you all have splendid plans for the weekend (and that it includes voting if you’re any of my Australian readers!). I’ll be spending the bulk of my weekend…

  • …at Toronto’s 29th annual Vegetarian Food Festival! This massive event showcases what awesome businesses and organizations promote health and goodness on a veg diet, and the benefits having a vegetarian lifestyle can also have on the environment and wellbeing of animals. Lectures, workshops, cooking demos and incredible delicious food as far as the eye can see. I’m going to be meeting up with my vegan knitting group to hang out on the lawn at Harbourfront and enjoy snacks while we craft and catch up, too!
  • And speaking of vegan foods, September is Vegan Mofo this year (the Vegan Month Of Food)! I took part a few years ago now, but I didn’t feel like I could keep up with the daily blogging enough to do it this year (maybe next year!). They have a great roundup on the blog of what amazing awesome vegan foodie things are being posted, so if you’re interested in finding out about the world of vegan deliciousness, that’s a great place to start!
  • I enjoy this series of tips and etiquette for NYC, but in particular this one, which applies anywhere you have a subway/train system!
  • If you’re still looking for awesome coffee mugs even after the great one I linked to last week, maybe you’d like to be the only one with the antidote?
  • There’s a family here in southern Ontario living like it’s 1986 for a year to try and shift their reliance on technology away and let their kids enjoy life more. It’s a pretty interesting experiment.. I’m almost 100% I couldn’t stand to do it. And the mullet is really taking it too far…
  • LEGO have a new female minifig, and she’s a scientist! That’s pretty awesome.
  • I need a treehouse just so I can have a bicycle-powered elevator to get to it!
  • Did you know there’s a whole website dedicated to geeky engagements/weddings? Well, you do now.
  • Mystery underwater ‘crop circles’ explained! Grab a cuppa and enjoy the show, as everyone likes some Spirograph aesthetics, right? (..right?)
  • I’m all about quirky museum-based things, and this project ticks all those boxes: “We are proud of our stewardship in developing the wonderful heritage of cereal specimen museum displays.” Amazing.
  • I’ve been taking a trip back in time watching X-Men: The Animated Series on Netflix this week, it’s been great! Someone decided to take the X-Men a little further back in time, though, and created this fantastic series of medieval X-Men.
  • Of course I didn’t forget about including an Adventure Time link, reader! What kind of fool do you take me for? Head to We Love Fine for awesome title card prints like this one:
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Time for another Digital Dozen”

  1. MeShell says :

    Ahahahaha. that NYC GIF is so accurate. AND SO APPLICABLE to Toronto. I think it might actually be worse here, as when I visit most places with a subway, people often seem to get that whole… people have to get off the subway/streetcar, before others can get on.

    See you at Veg Fest? I’m excited!

    • nicolehoye says :

      I got so frustrated with the tube in London because of it I ended up just shoving my way past people getting out of the train. It’s the same with elevators! What the hell.

      I’ll be at VegFest with my wellies on!

Leave a Reply

