Kick-Ass 2: The Disappointening.

Back when Kick-Ass came out, I saw a preview screening here in Toronto, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great action, comic-level violence, wonderful characters and a dark sense of humour. It was exciting and enthralling!

When I watched Kick-Ass 2 last Friday, I enjoyed it while it was happening – and even when I came out I felt “Oh yeah, that was great! So much fun!” But it faded quickly. And then I went back and watched Kick-Ass.

As I watched, I realized Kick-Ass 2 was pretty much unnecessary. It didn’t cover any new ground in the “we’re all vigilante superheroes”/”we’re persecuted due to being superheroes” that stuff like Watchmen & the X-Men haven’t already done (and well). The humour was flat and didn’t have the same tone as the original. Overall the tone was different and even the characters felt flat – you didn’t get to spend enough time with them like you did in the first movie.

I get that it’s scripted and directed by a different team – and that’s usually where sequels find their downfall – but beyond how half-baked the writing and directing ended up being, I still honestly feel we didn’t need a Kick-Ass sequel if it was going to be this one. I’m bummed, because I enjoyed the original so much!

Yes, Spiderman 3 & X-Men 3 were fairly unnecessary as well.. but I still felt like some of the tone & character was there. Maybe because in general a lot of recent superhero sequels/prequels have been enjoyable to me, I expected too much. I’d say if you really loved Kick-Ass, just don’t bother with KA2.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

