The Whole Nicole

An absolute potpourri spilling out of my brain

I like a bunch of stuff. I do a bunch of things. I care about a bunch of issues. Here is where I write about it all because I can't seem to land on any one thing. The whole of me!


Digital Dozen! I know you need fun stuff, internet.

I forgot all about DD last week because it was a short week and my brain was confused. Obviously. So here’s fun things for you now, friends.

This installation, New Moon, is a pretty awesome visual concept. [More images at the link and a short video here]

Do you want to know why you sun sneeze, or sleep start? Then watch on, good reader, for these explanations of involuntary bodily reactions!

I bet you’ve never combined the words “science fictions buddhas” in your brain before. Well, here now. There you go. For real I want this little Chewie for my desk.

This artist created the symbols for certain vitamins/minerals out of foods they’re present in. Is it just me, or does Iron look REALLY TASTY? Mmmm.

I want to get a big print of this and hang it in a classy frame. (via)

There’s an amazing fox sanctuary in Japan. So many foxes! I don’t think I could handle the cute. Lookit!!

This treehouse is so nice it’s basically like a little wooden castle in a tree, and I’d totally live in it. It must be nice to build something like this as a whim!

My handwriting’s scratchy at best, so I’m always mindblown to see well done calligraphy, especially when it’s really taken next-level like this!

Artist Denny Dyke makes these intricate sand designs, or what he calls “walkable art”. I don’t think I could bring myself to walk on them and ruin them! But by their location I suppose they’re fleeting anyhow thanks to the tide.

I love photos of abandoned places; I wish I was more of a photo adventurer to get some shots of abandoned places on my own. Until then, I’ll keep appreciating those I come across, like this series of an abandoned, snowy mall.

I love art installations that have a mesmerizing component. This fits the bill perfectly. Hypnotizing, almost..

I think my favourite type of installation, though, is having surreal placements of objects in regular scenes/places. It just tickles my brain so much. So I’m pretty down with these weird bunches of balloons appearing in all sorts of places.



2 responses to “Digital Dozen! I know you need fun stuff, internet.”

  1. FOXES!!!
    I would really love that cookie monster print as well.

    1. I think I might print cookie monster for my wall at work 🙂

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.